jump to navigation

Choose Again! June 30, 2010

Posted by Ruth in Uncategorized.
trackback

Sometimes, we feel locked in by choices that we have made.  I created a new version of my newsletter through this WordPress blog.  I was excited to have finally found a format that was easy to use, allowed readers to comment, and enabled me to share information in a faster, simpler way.  But, something just didn’t feel right.

I struggled with posting new articles.  I was frustrated trying to maintain the events section.  I felt completely blocked.

As I thought about my new approach, something just wasn’t right.  I was aggravated with myself for announcing a new format, and then “dropping the ball.”  All this struggle, frustration and embarrassment lead to what I can only term “writer’s block.”  Blah!

Determined to get past this, I began to just observe, to try to determine the source of my discontent.  I discovered that what had been my main focus with my newsletter, providing an array of events and activities for homeschooling families, was no longer a needed service.  With the wealth of online communication forrums available, homeschoolers were connecting, forming social groups and activity planning groups.  They were networking, and learning from each other, weren’t really taking the time to read a long newsletter such as the one that I had published for many years.  Yet, I received numerous emails, letters, phone calls, and in-person comments from those who said they missed my monthly essay.

Hmmm… I still ha lots of ideveas for medium to long essays, and short blog posts.  I still love learning, because it is such an integral part of every minute of our lives, whether we realize it or not.  I still want to encourage people to discover the joy that comes from learning something new, whether it is a skill, a fact or a perspective.

One of the best things I have ever learned is that we always have options.  We can always choose again!  We can choose to change our methods, our perspectives, our actions, our attitudes and our thoughts.  I have decided to “Choose again!”

Let the learning adventure begin… again!

Comments»

1. Laura Grace Weldon - June 30, 2010

Thank you for the richness you brought into our lives with the schedules and information in Ruth’s Learning News and thank you now for showing us the beauty of choosing again.

Honing down to what we love to do and what we do well, this is how we bring our gifts to the world.

gratefully,
Laura

Ruth - July 1, 2010

Thank you for your very constant, and greatly appreciated, support, Laura! You are always an inspiration to me!

2. Barb - June 30, 2010

Yey Ruth! You’re right! The part I always read was your message. The events were great but I never had time to get through all of it. You always come up with such interesting links and ideas.
So don’t worry about all the events, just tell us what you think is important or special or really cool. Or just how you’re doing – it’s always good to hear from you!

Ruth - July 1, 2010

Thank you, Barb! You were one of the people who told me repeatedly that I should just focus on my message and let the rest go, so thank you for your very wise counsel. I appreciate having you on my “board of advisors.” 😉

3. josie - July 1, 2010

hey ruth-

i admit, i would only check out one or two of the events, but i’d always read what you had to say. there’s a saying- every choice you make is the right choice (even if you don’t see why at the time). so, please keep posting your words of wisdom and encouragement- just let me know where you ‘choose’ to go 🙂

Ruth - July 4, 2010

Hey Josie,

Thanks for the support! I’ll definitely keep you posted as to where I’m headed. There may be lots of twists and turns and a few detours, but I think the ride will be a lot of fun. In the words of a good friend, Jimmy, I’m just going to “go with it!”


Leave a Reply

